What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Help restoring watercolour

BritInCanada

Hi all,

Forum newbie here, just been looking around and am amazed at the talent on display in this forum.

I've signed up to see if anybody can help me with the steps needed to restore the original colours from a 27 year old painting by my late Grandad. The frame has protected the edges of the picture from sunlight, so you can see the deep reds that the original had that caught my eye years ago. I'd love to get a version of the picture looking like this original best.

08022014093914-DOC080214-0001 (2).png

Tom Mann

Guru
It can definitely be done, but I would strongly suggest that you post a much, much larger (in pixel dimensions) image, even if you need to re-scan the painting or re-photograph it. The version you posted is so tiny it will be hard to work with, and, it won't be able to be used to make a nice (restored) print.

I would say that you should post an image that is at least 3000 pixels on the long dimension.

Tom M

BritInCanada

It can definitely be done, but I would strongly suggest that you post a much, much larger (in pixel dimensions) image, even if you need to re-scan the painting or re-photograph it. The version you posted is so tiny it will be hard to work with, and, it won't be able to be used to make a nice (restored) print.

I would say that you should post an image that is at least 3000 pixels on the long dimension.

Tom M

Thanks for your response Tom.