What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

How to create ripple animation for a still image

l2p

Hi,

I'm just starting out with PS and I'm trying to figure out how to create a ripple animation using an already existing still. Most of the Google searches I have done all involve water ripples which is not what I am looking for. I found one site psd.tu-torial.com/photoshop-tutorials/ripple-effect/ but it seems to be outdated and/or missing some steps (?).

Can someone explain the Step 5-8 process? My image just shows the black ellipses instead of the blank layer. Or if someone could direct me to another tutorial then that would be appreciated as well.

Thanks!

IamSam

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Hello I2p and welcome to PSG.

In step 5, you highlight/select the layer with the anime girl (layer 1). Then you hold the Command/Control key and use your mouse to mouse click the thumbnail of the layer with the ellipses, or what they describe as layer C. This makes a selection (marching ants) of the ellipses.

In step 6, you feather the selection you just made following the tutorials instruction.

In step 7, make sure your layer 1 is still highlighted/selected and then hit Command/Control + J. This will make a new layer (layer 2) that will have the ellipses with the girl inside them.

In step 8, highlight/select the newly made layer (layer 2) and enter the liquify function as directed by the tutorial.