What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Loss of quality - noob here.

NickARF

Hi there,

I use a template to create banners. These are simple banners to be used on the web.

The banners are two main colors on-top of a product. The colors are red and teal.

When I have to create a new banner, I have to go over the red and teal to then put text over them.

Strangely; when I save for web, the red because mottled and the edges become jarred and bitty. Does anyone have a reason for why this could be happening? I'm not versed highly in Photoshop, so I thought I'd ask!

I save each file at 72 res, RGB, 100 quality JPG.

thanks!

MrToM

Guru
Does anyone have a reason for why this could be happening?

Hi NickARF,

Jpg is not the best format to use...its a 'lossy' compression.
The 'jarred and bitty' quality comes from compressing to jpg format and unfortunately in your case RED is the worst colour for it. Its more commonly know as 'artifacts', for obvious reasons.

I don't know if your original image is also in jpg format but constantly saving a jpg image TO jpg will decrease the quality every time you save it.

Does the image look ok before saving?

If so, use 'Save for web and devices' and choose the output format from there....you can set the window to 'Two up' which will show you the original image AND the image when its saved to the format you choose.

If you can, save to PNG instead...its a 'lossless' compression which basically means the quality isn't compromised as much (if any).