What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Paint bucket is not working correctly.

BillCosby

I currently have two layers on my image.

I am trying to use the basic paint bucket fill tool, and when I try to use it fills the entire layer (When I have the top layer selected), or it fills everything of the same color all across the image (When the bottom layer is placed as the top layer) It was working before, but now it is not. I have tried deleting my preferences file to reset any options I may have mistakenly edited, but it did nothing.

I am not entirely sure how to describe my problem any further. I am a total newb when it comes to photoshop. (I am using CS6 on Vista)

MrToM

Guru
What exactly is the problem?

Your two descriptions are exactly how the paint bucket works, depending on layer content, so what isn't it doing for you?

Regards.
MrTom.

BillCosby

I am making a map, for a project. On one layer, I did the land. And on a second layer, I used the brush to add black borders to each of the countries on the map. On the second layer, I am trying to use the paint bucket to fill the areas within the borders, so each country has its own unique color. However, it fills the entire image, except the black borders.

IamSam

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Sorry, my previous post I had to delete, it was wrong.

Post a screen shot of your layers panel please so we can see what you may be doing wrong.

IamSam

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
If the land/countries are all on one layer, then then you will have to isolate each country in order to give it a unique color.

IamSam

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator