What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Best resolution to use for large dimension prints

mariusblk

Hello there Photoshop fans, i have a question since this is my first attempt to create a large banner for print. It's dimensions are 350 cm x 95 cm and will be viewed from a distance of about 150 - 200 cm. What resolution to start with since when i tried to create a new document using 350 cm x 95 cm and 150 ppi PS created a huge file that for me is hard to manage and most of the time my computer freezes.

Help a newbie here to start his work. What is the best resolution to have a nice printed banner? Thanks

ALB68

Dear Departed Guru and PSG Staff Member
You need to create this as a vector in Adobe Illustrator if possible. Vector format is resolution independent. If your planning on printing a banner(obviously a wide format printer) you would need to try and maintain 250-300 ppi, but the file size is beyond your computers memory capability. Go vector and all of that goes away.
Hello there Photoshop fans, i have a question since this is my first attempt to create a large banner for print. It's dimensions are 350 cm x 95 cm and will be viewed from a distance of about 150 - 200 cm. What resolution to start with since when i tried to create a new document using 350 cm x 95 cm and 150 ppi PS created a huge file that for me is hard to manage and most of the time my computer freezes.

Help a newbie here to start his work. What is the best resolution to have a nice printed banner? Thanks

mariusblk

What if i want to insert images, how can i make those vectors, i mean i only work in photoshop my ilistrator skils suck.

ALB68

Dear Departed Guru and PSG Staff Member