What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

need help with RGB/CMYK colors

giuls

Noob here ..and completely clueless. This question is not really related to photoshop (I'm actually using Illustrator), but I don't think it will make much of a difference.
I made a logo and now I need to add color. I have to use the same red used in the previous logo and all I have is a gif of that logo. What is the proper way to do this? All I know is that I'm supposed to deliever the CMYK file. Do I use the color picker in illustrator and apply the color on the new logo? I tried this, it looks fine on screen, but when I print it, it looks darker and dull. As I said, I'm completely clueless. I really need to study how this stuff works, but for now I need to solve this problem. Thanks in advanced

ALB68

Dear Departed Guru and PSG Staff Member
Your computer monitor only sees RGB colors. Ai default color space is CMYK as the program is guessing that it is going to a commercial printer. If this is a logo and the colors are critical, I suggest you insist that the client provide you with definitive color information as a Pantone color match. What you see on your monitor and what is printed is not necessarily going to look the same especially if you don;t have a calibrated monitor and proper color management setup which should be step one in working with colors. See this article http://helpx.adobe.com/illustrator/using/selecting-colors.html
http://helpx.adobe.com/illustrator/using/color.html#about_colors_in_digital_graphics
This video explains how to access the Pantone color swatches in Ai.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sHqkN3bohMg