What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Photoshop vs. GIMP

benjaminjones

Hi, I am a total newbie to photo editing. As such, I don't have a lot of money to invest in photo editing software. Basically, I just need to be able to create and edit photos for my website, like thumbnails, header images, etc. Since GIMP is a free photo editing software, would it suit my needs? I had a bad experience with it in the past but that was on an old desktop. It loaded way too slow and often froze. Now that I have a new laptop I am wondering if I would have the same issues with GIMP. It is a refurbished HP Pavilion. What are your thoughts- GIMP or put the money on Photoshop? Thank you.

Hey Benjamin! Welcome to the Forums,

GIMP is an excellent place to start if you can't fish out lord knows how much these days on a Photoshop package, and if you've got a new laptop you shouldn't have too much of a bad time with it, I've rarely had problems with GIMP in the past, it was once my primary image manipulation tool, it's a little tough to get used to at first, but it is pretty powerful and probably the best free image manipulation program you can get. It's probably changed since the last time you used it, but if you need any help, I'm sure I'll still have some knowledge on how to use it so I could probably give you a hand.

however, it's worth noting that there are other alternatives to GIMP and to Photoshop at a fraction of the price, or even free.

Check out our Free/Cheap Alternatives To Photoshop thread, and you'll get some really great ideas as to alternatives that might do exactly what you want better than GIMP, but not to the price of Photoshop creative suite or creative cloud.