What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Problem with a drop shadow

Strahan

Hello! I'm new to Photoshop, and I'm having a problem. I used the rounded rectangle tool to make a box to hold some text. When I was done, I thought it'd look nice with a soft drop shadow. I added the effects layer to the box layer and it looked good except for it is emphasizing a light colored border around the box. Is there a tweak I can do in the drop shadow to make it move over that? I tried a negative distance but Photoshop wasn't having that. I figured I could take the eraser or brush and carefully go over the border to remove it, but it sounds like it'll be tedious so I was hoping for a quick tweak to the drop shadow controls will fix it :)

Thanks!

Screenshot of the problem:
lightborder.jpg

ALB68

Dear Departed Guru and PSG Staff Member
Hi Strahan

It would be helpful if you would post the image and show your layers panel in the screenshot.

MrToM

Guru
Why don't you just remove the 'light coloured border'?

If you are trying to cover it with a dropshadow, which you cannot do BTW, then I don't see a reason to keep it.....or am I missing something?

As ALB68 said, a screen shot of the whole UI would be more helpful....no need for the Styles window again.

Regards.
MrTom.

Strahan

Well, I found if I drop the opacity it goes away. Here is a screen shot showing what I mean.

Prior to doing the drop shadow, I see no border around the rounded rectange:
View attachment 52354

As soon as I add the fx layer, I see the border:
View attachment 52355