What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

changing a circles shape?

geoffsmith

Hi
I am new to Photoshop.Only installed the free version 2 days ago. (CS2 Vers9). I expect that I will only need to use it a couple of times a year
For my first project I would like to design some trading cards.
Much like this project on youtube.

www.youtube.com/watch?v=JM1bMokrnV4

This is the card I want to use for my project (Hope this comes up in the thread). I want it to look like this with a different centre picture and different text under the player. Other wise the same

My question is can I change the shape of a circle to the horseshoe shape.
I would have thought this would be easy to do in Photoshop by some kind of dragging but have spent half a day googling it for answers to no avail.
Thanks if anybody can help

Attachments

• 68 footy card project.jpg
    68 footy card project.jpg
    643.6 KB · Views: 2

MrToM

Guru
Hi geoffsmith,

I'd do this with a shape, no fill and stroked with black.
Unfortunately this is not as straight forward in CS2 as it is in later versions, its not difficult, you just have to use a slightly different method.

CS2 applies 'stroke' to a shape via 'Styles'.
This means you have to have a 'Style' you can apply, there may be one suitable in the defaults but its better to make your own.

In this video I kind of did things backwards.....making the 'Style' after the shape but it doesn't really matter....as long as you have a 'Style' you can use then fine.

I point out at around 2:10 that you need a 'Style' and then go on to create one....you could start watching this from there if you want to create the 'Style' first and have it ready.