What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Polygonal lasso tool creates squary lines, why?

Morzun

(I think) I'm not a newbie anymore when it comes to Photoshop, but the thing that's happening now is beyond my knowledge.

Somehow, when I try to make triangles using the Polygonal Lasso tool, it converts the straight lines to squares.
Hoping someone knows why this is happening.

Here's how it looks after I made my selection: Untitled-2.png

Thanks in advance!

MrToM

Guru
Any marquee is based on the pixels in the image.

As the image is essentially a grid of [usually] square pixels then the marquee has to follow the shape of the pixels.

Although Adobe likes to think you can split a pixel, you cannot.
A marquee can only contain 'whole' pixels.

The pixel is the smallest 'element' in a digital image.

Regards.
MrTom.

Morzun

Thanks Tom.

I already thought it might have something to do with that.

So to work around this, I could simply make a bigger canvas and try my luck on there?

ALB68

Dear Departed Guru and PSG Staff Member
Thanks Tom.

I already thought it might have something to do with that.

So to work around this, I could simply make a bigger canvas and try my luck on there?

I don't think there is a "work around" for this nor would you need one. As Tom said more or less, this is just the way it works. Your zoomed in really high to display this.

Morzun

Yeah, I was zoomed in a lot. I zoomed out less though, and yet the selections I make end up very ugly-looking.

In this tutorial, they seem to zoom in a good bit too, but it isn't happening to them.

MrToM

Guru
Sort of...