What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

How do you make a button pin in photoshop or indesign?

I am majoring in graphic design and one project is for us to design a button/pin in either photoshop or indesign.
The instructions say that "The size of the button is 2.5" round for the pin-back. Bleed area is the extra background that will wrap around to the back of the button and into the crimp. You must have an extra .25" of background color or image all the way around your design."

The workspace must be 300 dpi and saved to at least 300 dpi. The artwork should be .25" bleed and finished round artwork will be 2.75".

I really do not know how to set everything up on either photoshop and InDesign. Can someone please tell me how I can do this?

MrToM

Guru
Set up your document like this:

3x3x300_A_01.jpg

(I'm not sure where the 2.75" came from so adjust if needed...I used 2.5 + 2*0.25 = 3.0...???)

Then place guides all around the document and also central.
With the 'Elipse' marquee tool and 'snaps' turned on, place your cursor on the very center of the document.
Click and drag out halfway across the document.....then hold down 'Alt' (to draw from center), and then also 'Shift' (Constrain to circle)...continue to drag to the edge of the document where it should snap to the guide.

Fill that with whatever colour your 'bleed' area needs to be....(Could be anything really).

Repeat the above but this time have your 'Info' panel open and drag out a circle 750px wide.....this is the button circle. (750px = 2.5" dia @300ppi)

You should have something like this:

3x3x300_button_A_01.jpg

On a new layer fill that with White (Or whatever bg colour you want).