What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Help! (Light / Background / Edges)

zoomintovicky

Hi everyone!

I'm new to photoshop and I need your help with a few things I'm stuck on at the moment.

1. I don't understand how to enlighten the picture. The originals are quite dark and I want to make them brighter.

2. This is one of the original pictures.

unnamed-10.png

As you can see, the background is already blurry. But I want to "color" it (let's say yellow) and make it look like this one:

Miniatura_QuandoMenoTeLoAspetti.png

3. Also, once I crop the "person", how can I make the "edges" black and soft? Like the one above.

Thanks!

PoBear90

Hello zoomintovicky!

So for the black, smooth edges, first you will need to convert the image to smart object. Select the guy using the quick selection tool. You might want to make your brush soft or fuzzy.
Now make a Layer Via Cut. Now in your layer options (you can do this before cutting the new layer) tic the outer glow. I tried it with softer and changed the color to black, it looks good.
Go back to your "background image now, select a paint brush, turn opacity to about 50%, paint over it with any color you want. Now your over imposed image with the glow will sit nicely
on the background. You can use the blur tools to give it a couple of passes too

zoomintovicky

Hello zoomintovicky!

So for the black, smooth edges, first you will need to convert the image to smart object. Select the guy using the quick selection tool. You might want to make your brush soft or fuzzy.