What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Switching out a color

bkweibley

Ok guys ill start off by saying I am VERY new to Photoshop. Ive been watching tutorials and videos but am still having some questions. I am actually using an old image of an old Paintball jersey that my team used and I am trying to change colors and things on it. Here is the image I am playing around with:
10974593_10153074130414437_164152891510244860_o.jpg

As you can see, the argyle pattern down the sides of the jersey, I would like to change the red in it to a lime green color. I cant figure out how to select all of the red though since it fades from bright to dark. Can someone please point me in the right direction?

ALB68

Dear Departed Guru and PSG Staff Member
The Magic Wand selection tool will do this. You have to Uncheck Contiquous in the command bar. Set your tolerance high (32 etc) if you want a wide selection. Reduce for a narrow one (color wise). Also, set the Sample size to 3x3 for this image.

Last edited:

MrToM

Guru
I'd be tempted to just add a Hue / Saturation layer, set to 'Colorize', change to lime green and then mask out what doesn't need to be green...

colour_Swap_A_02.png

Regards.
MrTom.

Last edited by a moderator:

bkweibley

The Magic Wand selection tool will do this. You have to Uncheck Contiquous in the command bar. Set your tolerance high (32 etc) if you want a wide selection. Reduce for a narrow one (color wise). Also, set the Sample size to 3x3 for this image.

Maybe im misunderstanding but when I do exactly what you explained, it just selects the whole image?

bkweibley