What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Fix panorama?

tiger6969

Hi all,

looking for assistance on how to smooth the blue sky in attached panorama. What is the easiest method to fix this stitching issue?

IMG_9060_stitchA.JPG

Cheers,

Sean

The easiest way would be to duplicate the layer for safety precautions !!!
and select a soft brush tool set the opacity to about 20% and go over the picture with the blend mode set to lighten and then once again with the mode set to darken.

Capture.PNG

If your feeling more adventurous then just mask out the mountains and replace sky all together or create 1 yourself

Hi Hoogle,

Thanks for the speedy reply. I am an absolute PS novice, and what you have described is beyond my knowledge. Is it as simple as clicking on a brush in PS and then the sky will become an even blue?

Cheers,

Sean

sample a similar colour from the sky and if you have the brush mode set to lighten or darken then it will only effect pixels that are lighter and darker. it is really easy to do, the trick is to leave some of the original sky texture there though to keep it looking natural.

Hoogle's approach is indeed excellent, but as alternative, here's a different approach that doesn't take any experience painting with brushes in PS.

1. Select the sky and, since you are just starting out in PS, to be safe, save the selection, and give it a name, eg,"sky". There are lots of different ways to select an area, and deciding which selection method to use could, itself, occupy a different thread. FWIW, I used the "quick selection tool".

2. Hit cntrl-J to put just the sky on it's own layer