What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

How do I edit a picture exactly like this ?

Viewtiful

The effect really is just a simple red to transparent gradient fill.

I downloaded a free template (can't remember from where) which achieves a similar affect. You could edit it to achieve an even closer look.

Before;

Before.jpg

After;

After.jpg

Filter attached.

Attachments

• Gradient Filter.psd
    711.7 KB · Views: 4
Last edited:

theo10

First of all, thank you so much for trying to help.:thumbsup:
Sadly though I am almost a complete newbie so I'm not sure how to apply a simple red to transparent gradient fill. I used the filter attached and obtained this :

Gradient Filter.jpg

I cannot figure out how to edit the filter or how to create one myself that would have a straight horizontal line which separates the complete red color in the upper part of the picture ( 100% opacity, unlike the filter attached ) from the yellowish picture (at least I know how to make a picture yellowish ).

What do I mean by straight line ? Well the filter given by you seems to have more red on the right side of the picture. I know, all those details, but I really want it to look as similar as possible.

Any kind of advice is appreciated :cheesygrin:

Tom Mann

Guru
OK, as an example, start with a picture of a brightly lit white house as the background (ie, starting, base, lowest) layer in Photoshop:

0-original.jpg

Duplicate the layer, and apply the Camera Raw tool with the following settings to reduce the contrast and reduce the saturation:

2B_nd_ACR_settings_to_lower_contrast_and_sat.jpg

The result will look something like this:

2z-result_of_ACR_adjustment_layer.jpg