What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

robertleblanc

Hi

I am new to this and the question is who to do this in photoshop? (see attach)
Any help would be great.

Regard

Robert

Attachments

• this.jpg
    this.jpg
    4.8 MB · Views: 22

Tom Mann

Guru
Can u give us some background on this pattern, eg, where did u first see it, are u sure it was made using PS, and wasn't done by, say, some mathematical algorithm or by hand?

Tom M

Tom Mann

Guru
Also, just how accurately do u want it reproduced? What are the most important aspects of the pattern that u want to reproduce, ie, the shapes of the dots? The rather limited variation in the widths of the alleys between the "dots", etc.?

Do u know about standard methods for tiling patterns in PS? Have u considered making up some custom brushes in PS? Are u familiar with the customization options in commercial halftone generation software? Each of the above methods can produce patterns similar, but not identical to your example, so the question always comes back to which aspects are the most important to you.

Tom M

Tom Mann

Guru
Or, if you don't need to generate a completely new pattern from scratch each time, but you can accept quasi-random variations of the original, just use the liquify tool on it. I used the twirl option (multiple times) to get the effect you see below.

Tom M

random_dot_pattern01-tjm01-ps02-8bpc-698px_wide.gif

In Art, Illustration and Design this manual stippling technique is called Pointillism.
Whether I can draw something with PS I do not know, I had to try it once.
I hope this helps, perhaps you need to not only create patterns, but also drawings.