What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Matching colors (was: Help combining / changing color palettes of various photos...)

hydropyr

Good day to all graphics lovers.

I would like to learn how to change the color palette and brightness of one photo to match another. For example I have combined these 2 photos and I would like the palette and brightness of the sand and sky of the left photo to match the right one (Or vice versa).

desert_collage2.png

Is there a fast and easy way to do this, or is photoshop the only way?
I have photoshop CS6 which I only know the very basics. However I’m not a graphics designer, nor do I have any experience with photoshop.

So what are the steps and specific tools to accomplish this? Perhaps a youtube video that guides you step by step?

Once I learn the basics of how to do this, I’ll process various other photos in similar manner.

Any help will be highly appreciated.

Thanks in advance

Last edited by a moderator:
Welcome Hydro. An easy, quick way would be first a hue/saturation adjustment layer, making the bland sky on the left bluer. Thank probably a color adjustment layer, adding more yellow on the slider to give the tan sand a deeper yellow color. See if that works.

Bildschirmfoto 2015-07-13.jpg
1. Make a duplicate of the right image part you want to make lighter. Put it on a new layer.

Curves adjustment layer.jpg
2. On a curves adjustment layer lighten the image.

color correction adjustment layer.jpg
3. On a color adjustment layer put in these values.

desert_collage2 chrisdesign.jpg
4. This is what you get.

Tom Mann

Guru