What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Deleting layer on the back of an inverted selection

quebecguitare

Hello, thank you for reading my first thread!

I need help, I want to cut the contour of the shape overlapping guitar headstock, removing the black. This is a png, I want the holes and this shape to be transparent, not white!

I think it's a layer mask that I need.

Any clues? I'm a newbie.

Thank you
Best Regards

headstock_384x256px_v2.png

MrToM

Guru
Its a very small image to work with but try this...

1. Use the 'Magic Wand' tool with tolerance of zero, Anti-alias ON, contiguous OFF, and click within the 'White' pixels.
2. Hit delete.
3. Create a new layer BELOW the only one you have.....fill with Black. (RGB = 0,0,0)
4. Select the original layer and use Ctrl + Alt + Shift + E to stamp the layers...this will create a new layer at the top of the stack.
5. Set the tolerance of the 'Magic Wand' tool to one (1).
6. Click something Black.
7. INVERT the selection using Ctrl + Shift + I
8. Turn OFF the top layer.
9. With the original layer selected, make the foreground BLACK (0,0,0) and using ALT + DELETE fill the selection with BLACK.
10. Keep holding ALT and press DELETE until all traces of the original 'shape' are gone....for me this was about 9 times.
11. Turn OFF the bottom layer.

Regards.
MrToM.

quebecguitare

Hi MtTom, thank you for your help.

I get up to the no. 9 in the list.
I have a hard time following the identification of the different layer you list in your commands.
Could you be more precise, there are 2 layers initially, the headstock and the flower.

Thank you
Regards

MrToM

Guru