What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Is this an effect you can do in Photoshop or Illustrator?

Tribegal

Hello all,

Photoshop newbie here! I'm wondering if the effect in the attached photo is something that can be done in photoshop. I have an inkling it's something better suited for Illustrator, but eh.

dropshadow example.png

How do you get the orange outline to go around the dropshadow. Is the black space between the white letters and the orange outline even a drop shadow? Also, how do you make the drow shadowy black space transparent so that you can put it on different color backgrounds?

Thanks!

IamSam

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Hello and welcome to PSG.

This can easily be done in Photoshop.

The orange/red line around the drop shadow is just a layer style stroke effect added to a copy of the text layer in black and then moved down and to the right.

Here's a quick example without the grunge factor.

Screen Shot 2015-07-23 at 12.35.07 AM.png

Screen Shot 2015-07-23 at 12.39.35 AM.png

Last edited:

IamSam

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Here's a version which is a little more true to the original as far as strokes are concerned.

Screen Shot 2015-07-23 at 12.51.39 AM.png

Last edited:

IamSam

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
As far as making the drop shadow transparent..........it can be done, but it would be really hard to explain.
If I have time tomorrow, I will try and make a quick tut video on the effect.

Screen Shot 2015-07-23 at 1.07.11 AM.png

Last edited:

Tribegal