What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Place a flower on a new cololured background - How to?

WesternGuy

I am fairly new to Photoshop in that I haven't used it (CS6) very much in a couple of years. I am trying to remove all of the background stuff in a wildflower image and replace it with a solid coloured background, so that I end up with, for example, a blue flower on a soft red background.

I can select the flower, but at some stage in the selection process, the "selection" jumps from the flowers stem to the entire image and I don't know why- would like to understand this process better. When I have been able to select that part of the flower that I want to keep, I get a bit lost in how to proceed. My understanding is that I need to create a new layer with the "background" colour that I want on it and then, somehow, merge this layer so that my flower layer is on top of the coloured one. It is this "overlaying" that I am finding hard to make work.

Any insight/assistance or reference to how to get this done will be greatly appreciated. TIA.

WesternGuy

IamSam

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Hello WesternGuy and welcome to PSG.

Any screen shots? What tool are you using to make the selection?

WesternGuy

Hello WesternGuy and welcome to PSG.

Any screen shots? What tool are you using to make the selection?

Thanks for the welcome.

I can post an image of one of the more simper flowers I was trying to work on if that will help. No screen shots.

I am using the Quick Selection tool and it worked pretty well. I had some problems getting it to select the border in some situations - not sure exactly why.