What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Newbie Needing Critique

Vince Joseph

Hello Guys,

I am new to photoshop and need some critical feedback on a photo I'm working on... It is attached below. I have NO idea how to make it look realistic. This is just a proficiency exercise as I am learning the ropes. Thanks for the feedback. I need all the help I can get...

Respectfully

Vince

Attachments

• Test.jpg
    Test.jpg
    1.1 MB · Views: 6

SPWA

Power User
The overall idea is good, but the crashed object and smoke do look stuck on at this point. You need to focus on blending. Getting the added object to look more realistic against the background.

IamSam

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Hello Vince and welcome to PSG.

I would straighten the crashed object, it's at an angle, unless your implying that the object/ship is in flight. If that's the case, bring it up higher to slightly above the horizon and further into the foreground. Since this is a still shot and not video whereby the main subject (the ship) would move closer and closer to the foreground, you need to have the subject the main focus of the image and not the scenery. Right now the subject looks far away and like it's just floating in the water. The biggest issue is that there is not a shadow from that dense black smoke cloud on the right side canyon wall. As for the smoke cloud itself, lighten the sun side and darken the shaded side. The lighting of the smoke cloud is too consistent from top to bottom, the lower section of the cloud would be shaded by the canyon wall to the left.

Vince,