What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

fix a blown areas of the sky in a multi-picture image

rueggy

Hey guys,

First post here. I'm a relative newbie to photoshop but I've been watching video tutorials and such trying to figure out how to fix my image issue.

Basically, I took a few photos to create a panorama with photo merge. In the images that I took, I have 2 areas of blown-out sky (but these areas still have cloud information recorded). When I stitch the images together, it forms a sort of halo around the middle portion of the sky that is the correct bluish-grey. I have tried fixing the issue on both images individually and after they were stitched together as well. Neither approach seems to work to convincingly deal with the problem.

I have been trying different color range options to select the blown-out areas, and fill with the bluish-grey with reduced opacity. It worked decently well on the 2-image picture but i still have a U present. Any ideas on how to trump this little pain in my butt?

Disclaimer: I rushed a photo merge to show the original photo's blow-outs, so yes I do know that it's not cropped, the perspective is off, etc.

Attachments

• Screen Shot 2015-10-16 at 5.37.21 PM.jpg
    Screen Shot 2015-10-16 at 5.37.21 PM.jpg
    69.8 KB · Views: 4
  • Screen Shot 2015-10-16 at 4.44.53 PM.jpg
    Screen Shot 2015-10-16 at 4.44.53 PM.jpg
    66.8 KB · Views: 5

IamSam

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
So your issue is here..

And you want to remove like this..

Am I right.. ?
I do believe that's what the OP was asking about. Care to share how you did it? It looks like you just cloned it out using the Clone Stamp Tool.

Last edited:

rueggy