What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Customizing an overlay for an musical device!

OIC

Hi Gurus

To make a long story short (see my introduction here for more info), I'm a musician/producer hellbent on customizing and restoring my gear learning PS as I go a long.

I've bought a Behringer BCR-2000 which is a device that controls a synthesizer that I have that has no onboard controls - all the functions are "hidden" inside the synthesizer so to speak.
It's a nice synthesizer with a functionality that would probably cost 1200+$ from modern standards since it's analog and very well-built.

2j67drc.jpgbehringer-b-control-rotary-bcr2000-72336.jpg

The thing is: First of all both the controller and the synthesizer (a Sequential Circuits MAX) are ugly as hell (and I'm sort of a vain/aesthetically-minded person when it comes to my gear - I want to make them beautiful for gigging) and secondly the BCR-2000 is a universal controller meaning that the knobs and buttons do not have text underneath them, i.e. it isn't described how it interacts with the synthesizer because it's designed for all sorts of gear.

Basically what I want to do is make them look like an older synthesizer of the same brand that today is renowned for it's simple, marvelous looks - the Sequential Circuits Prophet 5 (or similar models like the Pro One).
kb_as_sci_prophet-5.jpgsciproone.jpg

I have a friend who is carpenter who can make them some vintage-looking wooden sides. What I want to do, then, is redesign the front panel of the synthesizer and get a silkscreen-guy to help me make it and also design an overlay (preferably a high quality sticker) to put on the BCR-2000.