What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Newbie needs some guidance on how to enhance my concert photos

who4ever

I am just getting started with PS. My main reason in getting the program was to edit hundreds of concert photos I took in the 70's on 35mm film and had developed my mail in companies (remember Clark, anyone?) Most of the photos are lousy, but they have great sentimental value and it is time for me to try and resurrect them. Like most newbies, I find PS overwhelming but want to dive into it. Can anyone give me some guidance on the basic steps needed to start improving this photo, which is among the worst of them because in addition to the poor exposure, the developers cut the negative through the picture, then taped it back together and printed the photo, which I recently scanned. I need a few basic steps to enhance the overall image and then to get rid of the line. I want to do this myself, I am not asking anyone to do it for me. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks so much.

Attachments

• 11132015_0010.aJPG.JPG
    11132015_0010.aJPG.JPG
    200 KB · Views: 1
  • 11132015_0036.jpg
    11132015_0036.jpg
    298.1 KB · Views: 2

Tom Mann

Guru
These are difficult images to work with. A wide variety of Photoshop techniques is necessary to get something like the attached tweaked version, and, to be honest, I think it would be beyond the skill set of someone just starting out in PS.

Anyway, see what you think. If you want me to do so, I'll be happy to write up a summary of the techniques I used, but it probably won't be for a day or two.