What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Fade image to white at edges?

Batbloke

Very much a PS newbie and my first post on here so apolgies for any schoolboy errors or breaches of protocols. I'm also finding what I want to do hard to describe because I don't have the correct language. I'm a biologist, not a media man.

I have created a background (which will have some other images and text on it) as per the attached file. If I insert this image into (say) a Word document, there is obviously a hard outline between the edges of the image and the white background of the document page...just like in this posting!

What I woudl like to do is gradually transition the image (well, this layer of the image) to white at the edges, to avoid it looking like an obviously rectangular box which has been inserted into a document.

I am struggling to explain what I would like to achieve so I hope that's good enough for someone to get their head around what I'm trying to do. I have access to CS6.

Many thanks.

Attachments

• Baclground.jpg
    Baclground.jpg
    69.9 KB · Views: 4

MrToM

Guru
Fairly simple to do and many ways to do it but...

As you can appreciate the 'transition' from image to white, (or whatever), will occupy a certain amount of space....now the question is do you need that transition 'space' to be on the outside of your image.....or encroach into the image?

If outside its just a case of adding it to what you have now, but if its inside then you'll need to start thinking about masking.

The results will be similar but it depends on 'where' in relation to the image you need it as to which method to use.