What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Help with a yellow removal from a black and white photo

Paul Boyo white

Hi all

I am not a newbie as such but due to lifes trials its been a long while since I have had the chance to do anything with ps.
I am terrible at remembering things if I dont do them constantly and I cannot remember this
I have been asked if I can do anything with this photo and its the size of a credit card.

I cannot think how to get rid of the yellow i assume its felt tip as the lady who owns the photo coloured it in as a child.
if anyone can point me towards the right question or another post I will be very happy.

girl.jpg

MrToM

Guru
Another way you could try is the Channel Mixer Adjustment Layer...

remove_yellow_MT_00.png

Choose 'Red' as the 'Output Channel' and set the Red slider value to +100
The Green and Blue sliders should be set to zero.

Repeat this for the Green and Blue 'Output Channels'.

My example shows the final Blue 'Output Channel' settings but they should all be the same...R=100, G=0, B=0...

remove_yellow_MT_01.png

Regards.
MrToM.

thebestcpu

Guru
Here is yet a third technique.
Specifically with JPEG images, the luminosity information is coded into all 3 color channels and the color components end up being considerably compressed. Adjusting or using single R, G, or B channels can bring out JPEG artifacts more than the following approach.