What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Help with Highlight/Shadow effect

Donut

Hi guys! Noob here. i'm trying to figure out how to get a highlight/shadow effect like the one in the ring in the image below.

2hweow1.png

I think two circles were made, filled with different colors, then add mask on layer -> ctrl+i -> brush or something similar. I've made some experiments but none of them was successfull. Someone willing to help me?

Last edited:

IamSam

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Have you tried Bevel & Emboss in a layer style?

Screen Shot 2016-04-02 at 8.30.20 AM.png

IamSam

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Sorry Ged! Great minds!

Start with a ring....
Screen Shot 2016-04-02 at 8.34.32 AM.png

Add a Bevel &Emboss (these are my actual settings)
Screen Shot 2016-04-02 at 8.35.11 AM.png

Add a contour to the B&E.
Screen Shot 2016-04-02 at 8.35.35 AM.png

Donut

Thank you both, very clear explaination. :)
I've tried and it worked, however the result i got seems to me of lower quality than yours.
5tz1jp.png
I used the same settings of iamsam apart from chisel hard instead of smooth. What i got wrong now? :/ Pardon for being so noob.

IamSam

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Be sure and look over all of my settings, I changed quite a few of them. If you changed one thing, your going to get different results. Don't be afraid to make some changes of your own. Experiment.

gedstar

Guru
Here's another I made with different settings to Sam, as Sam said you need to experiment to get the desired effect

Untitled.jpg

Donut