What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Manipulating a heightmap

danparker06

Hello all,

I'm in a situation where I need to add something to a monochromatic heightmap. I would like to be able to take a heightmap, draw a line on it and then shade that line based on the shade underneath. The width of the line would be variable and I would like to be able to add or subtract to the shade below by a variable amount. Is this possible within PS? I have very little experience in PS but if there's a will, there's a way!

Thank you for your help!

Dan

IamSam

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Hello and welcome to PSG.

Let's see your heightmap.

MrToM

Guru
I'm not sure I fully understand the second half of this question but as far as drawing a line and having it 'contrast' with the background this could be done with a 'Line' and an appropriate Blending mode...I've used 'Difference' here...

height_map_MT_01.png

As this is a 'Line', as in a 'Shape' line, its thickness can be changed easily, using the 'End Cap' option also gives you square or rounded ends....just make sure that the 'Stroke' is set to 'Center' first.

Is that somewhere near?

I guess you could always add a 'Gradient Map' layer style if you wanted it coloured.

Regards.
MrToM.

danparker06

Thanks MrTom! I appreciate your help!

This is close to what I want. It looks like what you've done is have the line be the negative of what's below it. What I would like to do it have the line just be slightly lighter (or darker) that what ever is directly below it.