What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Remove Boarder Around Icon

gregorywolf

Hello -

Let me begin by saying I am very new to Photoshop and am trying to learn as I go along. I have tried looking for similar posts in the forum but I cannot seem to find the "magic" formula to accomplish my goal. I use Photoshop Elements 14 on a MacBook. I am trying to remove what appears to be a border around an icon in order to give the appearance of the icon floating. I have played with layer masks, saving the files as different formats, and making the background transparent. Both the of the following examples are PNG files. When I examine then in PS Elements I cannot figure out what is different about these files. Any and all input would be so appreciated. Thank you.

The first image below (AAA logo) has the border. The second image (Bjango logo) does not have the border and gives the appearance of "floating".
Border.png No Border.png

Last edited:

IamSam

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Hello and welcome to PSG.

I'm not familiar with Elements 14.

If your just wanting to remove the border, use the Polygonal Lasso Tool to make a selection around the logo.
Screen Shot 2016-04-29 at 8.25.39 AM.png

Then add a layer mask.
Screen Shot 2016-04-29 at 8.25.59 AM.png

Add a new layer below the logo layer and fill it with white.
Screen Shot 2016-04-29 at 8.26.06 AM.png

If you don't want two layers just merge them.

I have no idea what you mean by floating. For me, neither of these appear to be floating.

IamSam

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
If you remove the white bg and add a drop shadow.......then it appears to be floating.

Screen Shot 2016-04-29 at 8.31.23 AM.png