What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Newbie trying to figure this out.

Djc242010

Hey guys! Hope all is well! I've done numerous searches and maybe my wording isn't correct but I cannot find a definitive answer for what I'm trying to do. I have a photo of my fathers 18 wheeler and my mom and I are going to over haul his truck for a Christmas present. I'm a diesel mechanic and my buddy is a painter. I have a copy of photoshop cc on my laptop and I've been messing around with the hue adjustment to change the color of his truck to what we think would be a good color but we know he wants a specific color. I found a picture of the exact color online and I'm unsure of how to change the color of his truck to this specific green he wants. What my question is is how do I take a picture of the car that has the color he wants and apply it to the picture of his truck on the cab of the truck? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!!

gedstar

Guru
Hi and Welcome to PSG

Open the image of the color he likes in PS and double click on the Foreground Color and then use the Eyedropper to select the color, make note of the HSB values and then apply a Hus/Saturation adjustment layer to the truck, you will of course need to make selections of the parts of the truck to change the color and clip to adjustment layer to the selection

Untitled.jpg

You could also use the Replace Color Option

color.jpg

color range.jpg

Last edited:

Djc242010