What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Need to reconfigure image to fit different dimensions...

thePixelPixie

Hi there,
I'm a long-time Illustrator user, but only rarely use Photoshop. But I just got a client project that requires a bit more complexity than I'm comfortable with currently. Trying to figure out the best way to do this, so I'm hoping some experts here will be willing to give me some pointers.

So, the project is a CD cover. Client has an old leather-bound book cover he's had scanned at high res. But of course it's in a portrait orientation, with leather embossing on it. There's also a circular area in which I need to place a different photo (that part I think I have covered fine). My difficulty is in figuring out how to modify the book cover to fit the square shape of the CD template. Am I going to have to cut out every design element of the embossing and duplicate things? I was hoping it might not be as horribly involved as it's appearing it may be afterall.

Here is a low-res copy of the book cover scan. The dimensions it needs to fit into are 5.492x4.94 + bleed. And the picture area needs to remain roughly the same size. I'm suspicious that this is going to end up being way more complex than I bid for :(

51HNZFMB5kL_SX384_BO1_204_203_200_.jpg

Rich54

Guru
Is this acceptable? I did it in about 10 minutes, working extremely quickly just to see if my idea was even feasible. The red outline is the original dimension of the image. The new leather image right now is nearly square, but from here it can be re-sized into the proper proportions without much distortion.

Let me know if this looks ok for your purposes and I’ll tell you the steps that I took.