What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Question about logo and deleting a background from a logo

Dzezvar

Hello to all! I'm a newbie to Photoshop and I am making a logo, but if I post it on a site, it still has a square white background. Logo looks like this:

logotip2.jpg

Now, I would like to remove the white square around the logo. Thank you for your answers.

gedstar

Guru
Hi and welcome to PSG

Make a selection of the white with the Magic Wand Tool and invert the selection by hitting CTRL + SHIFT + I
Then hit CTRL J to copy that section to a new layer and then do a File > SaveAs PNG

Untitled.jpg

Untitled1.jpg

Last edited:

fredfish

Guru
Absolutely how #gedstar did it - but also take the tick out of the "Contiguous" box and it will catch the bit of white in the loop of the lead (but I am sure you got that bit anyway!)

Cheers

John

gedstar

Guru
but also take the tick out of the "Contiguous" box and it will catch the bit of white in the loop of the lead

My bad, I only realized I missed that bit later on and assumed the OP figured that out :shocked:

Thanks for pointing that out John :thumbsup:

Dzezvar

Absolutely how #gedstar did it - but also take the tick out of the "Contiguous" box and it will catch the bit of white in the loop of the lead (but I am sure you got that bit anyway!)

Cheers

John

Well...I'll have to remember that for the next time :) I erased that a little bit of a white afterwards with Background Eraser Tool. Thank you for the tip :)

IamSam

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
As usual, there are many ways to do thing in Photoshop.

For a job of just removing a solid white BG, I would just use the Magic Eraser Tool.