What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Blowing up images

bt101

Hi all,

New here, need some advice as a total newbie.

I'm designing some charity posters for my mum and I have a logo that is going to be blown up to about 100cmx100cm

when the logo is blown up the inner section is well defined but the outer areas pixelate - the file is already as high-res as i can get it .... any help on how i can smooth this out? or any tips on blowing images up??

large.pnglarge.png

- thanks in advance

gedstar

Guru
Hi and Welcome to PSG

Are you talking about this when zoomed in
image1.jpg

If so I would assume the inner shape is a Vector Shape that was done in something like Illustrator and the other shapes are not Vector based

This is what they can look like after using Image Trace in Illustator
image2.jpg

Tom Mann

Guru
To be honest, I think you are worrying needlessly.

The reason is that when a non-representational graphic such as yours is printed at a very large size (even up to roadside billboard size), even if a person is very interested in the design, the closest they will usually approach it is at a distance from which they can take in the entire graphic at one time. If they are *exceptionally* interested (say, another graphic artist), they may get a bit closer, but they will almost never put their nose right up to it.

One of the very few times that people ever get close (ie, pixel peep) to a large print is for group photos with large numbers of people. In this case, the only reason such intense intrest occurs is because people want to identify themself in the photo, see how they look, etc.