What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

How can I do this effect? total newb question

Rockman

Hello, i need a simple request. I am trying to imitate the effect done on the attached picture.

The brown rectangle has parts of it missing randomly. As do the words 'shop'. This effect seems rather random since it isn't consistent all around and is more prominent or patchy in certain areas. How do I do this effect? And yes the removed parts need to be white.

thanks for any help you can provide.

FYI, I'm using Photoshop CS2.

Attachments

• test.png
    test.png
    108.2 KB · Views: 63
Hello, you can achieve this effect by working with the layer mask. I suggest looking up tutorials on how the layer mask works. Also what it looks like is that they downloaded a different brush most likely a particle type of brush to achieve the scattered look. Let me know if this helps!

Rockman

I sort of understand how the layer mask works. but how would I get it to do that scattered look? Just randomly paint in white? Sorry, I'm a total newb. :cry:

Yea the scattered look would be from getting a specific brush that has the style pattern of what you're going for. So if you look up scattered brushes or particle brushes to download, you'll be able to get that style of edit you're going for. Photoshop really doesn't automate an effect like that, some manual labor still has to go in to work with achieving the look you want with objects and text.

gedstar

Guru
For the text effect

Write your text with the type tool and then right click on the type layer and select rasterize type

image1.png

Then CRTL click on the type layers thumbnail to make the selection active

image2.png