What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Layers in wrong order?

photoestaban

Hi to All

I am fairly new to Photoshop and still learning my way round
my problem i'm having is with a fairly old photo that i'm trying to touch up
1st : I converted it to black and white as it looked better
2nd : I used the Levels adjustment layer to tweak it
3rd : I then used a Curves adjustment layer, more tweaking
4th : I then did the touching up using Clone Stamp tool and Spot healing brush
Now when I go back to Levels or Curves layer to adjust it a bit more, it shows up patches where I'd
done the touching up and they really stand out, the only way I could get round it was to Flatten the image
and basically start again.
I know thats not how it should work, what am i doing wrong, am i doing it all in the wrong order?
are the layers in the wrong order.

thanks for your help

steve

MrToM

Guru
...Now when I go back to Levels or Curves layer to adjust it a bit more, it shows up patches where I'd
done the touching up and they really stand out, the only way I could get round it was to Flatten the image
and basically start again...
Instead of doing that just continue to add layer adjustments to the top of the stack...you are not limited to just one of each adjustment type.

The only time you wouldn't need to so this is if you have nothing else above the adjustment layer you are changing.

Regards.
MrToM.

MrToM

Guru
No worries.

You could also use the 'Stamp Visible' option, CTRL + ALT + SHIFT + E which is similar to 'Flatten' but keeps all your layers, you can then continue to add adjustment layers to the 'flattened' image but still have all your layers that created it underneath.