What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Organising Brushes into easy-to-access Folders

DtB19

Hi, Am new to this Forum and although I've been using various versions of Photoshop since about 2000 when I first started, I think with Photoshop 4 (may have been 3) I've still got a lot to learn and tend to stick to various methods I know for working and just add new bits and pieces as and when I'm looking for a new technique.

I use a Mac running Sierra and have Photoshop CS5.

I have to admit that I get hacked off when using brushes, of which I have quite a few that I finish up trawling through a whole load trying to find a mini icon that looks like it's a grass, or snow footprint or firework or cloud, whatever and would like to organise these into folders if at all possible so that "fireworks" are grouped in a firework folder and grasses in a grass folder etc, but I just don't seem to be able to get it sorted.

I've read that I'm supposed to go into the Brush Preset Manager which I've done having opened up CS5 and navigated to that from there. I'm then told that I select a brush, Ctrl & Click and select each brush I want in a particular folder and then click "Save Set".
All well and good except when I Ctrl & Click all I get is the option to "Rename Brush" or "Delete Brush". Just what is it that I'm doing wrong and what do I need to do to do it right?

The thing is as well, that even if I rename the Brush it still shows up as "594" or "263" or whatever the size of the Brush is.......

Thanks for your help.

Last edited:

MrToM

Guru
...Just what is it that I'm doing wrong...
You are RIGHT CLICKING a brush preset is what you are doing wrong.