What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Problems AdobeFnt.lst and supplied fonts

G

Graphics Guru

Hello everyone,

Today I was just about to start on an order I got for a banner. I recieved some materials to work with including fonts. However, I have been using photoshop for a few years now and I never heard of the adobefnt.lst files. However, I found out about what they do and what they are basically for, I think.

However, the real problem is that i recieved a font folder. Within this font folder there was another folder named: "Helvetica Neue Condensed 3". Within this folder there were 8 files:

AdobeFnt.lst
HelveNeuHeaCon
HelveNeuHeaConObl
HelveNeuLigCon
HelveNeuLigConObl
HelveNeuMedCon
HelveNeuMedConObl
Helvetica Neue Condensed 3

So to me it looks like a font and some different styles. The problem is i can't install these files, which names' appear to be font names, I tried giving them some font extensions, like .ttf but it didn't work. So my question remains...

How to install and use these files? I hope you guys can help me!

Thanks in Advance :)

Erik

Guru
This may be an InDesign issue. Or an Acrobat one. Chances are these files are not "real" fonts but specific files that only the application in which they were used/imbedded can recognise.

If the font(s) is/are for example from Adobe's FontFolio, they may not be freely distributed. And this may be some kind of protection against that.

Pierre (SPECTRE) may provide you with a better answer when he logs in and finds this thread.

mflintjer

Power User
If they truly are font files -- wouldn't placing them in the C:\WINDOWS\Fonts folder be the better way to go? [confused]

theKeeper

Guru