What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Newbie here with a Photoshop CS6 issue!

Sega Jenesis

Hello! New here and just looking for some help with issues I've been consistently having in Photoshop CS6 13.0.6x64 for Mac OS X version 10.8.5.

I'm opening RAW .NEF images, cutting with the pen tool, and saving after doing some cleanup with the clone stamp/patch/healing tools etc. Then I hit command J twice to duplicate my layer to total 3 layers. I select the top layer, go to Filter > Other > High Pass, set it at 20 radius, then set the Transparency to Overlay. I then select the middle layer, go to Filter > Blur > Surface Blur with a radius of 15 & 27, then set the Opacity to 50%. (Sometimes I do the Surface Blur first and the High Pass second, but it produces the same result).

At this point, strange loss of data occurs and the file (and any others open) is corrupted in such that pixels of information are missing and cannot again be retrieved! This is becoming a huuuuge issue as I am often cutting and cleaning 300pc chrome tool sets, only to have all of the work ruined by this data corruption (hours of work lost!). My company just sent my computer to Apple to be cleaned and have the RAM investigated, and I got it back today. The same issue occurred!

Does anyone happen to know anything about this? All help welcome!

Thank you!

Examples:

Screen Shot 2014-10-24 at 3.47.27 PM.pngScreen Shot 2014-10-24 at 5.01.27 PM.png

MrToM

Guru
To me it looks very much like a tiling issue.

Have you changed the tile settings at all? (In an attempt to fix, and as a possible cause).