What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Yellow Square as Cursor in Photoshop

HLDickson

Hi there, I've been working in Photoshop since 2004 and I've never seen a problem like this before. I use a Mac, now upgraded to Mavericks, with Photoshop CS3. (Yes, I know but I like CS3!) and a Wacom Intuos 3. I have 24 G of ram. Recently, when retouching in Photoshop, a small yellow square appears over the curser. It moves like/with the curser but of course, you can't retouch because you can't see what you're doing. It only affects Photoshop because if you move to Safari, email, anything else, it reverts to a curser. You have to reboot Photoshop to clear it. I really don't want to upgrade to CS6 or the CC because of the loss of picture package and the wacky crop tool, but if I have to, I will. Any thoughts? Has anyone had a similar experience? - Thanks, Heather

IamSam

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
In CS6, you can use the classic mode on the Crop Tool.....

Screen Shot 2015-03-18 at 12.02.52 PM.png

EDIT: My sanity has been called into question! :rofl: IN CS6, they changed the crop tool and how it functions. For some hardcore Ps users, this was a deal breaker. I assumed that the OP is referring to this change and I wanted to remind her that you can still use the Crop Tool in the classic mode. So that's one less issue to worry about if that was one that was causing her hesitation in upgrading.

Last edited:

IamSam

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Heather, as for the yellow square around your cursor, I'm still searching.

Have you tried resetting your Ps preferences or the tool?