What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Color Settings for Printing Press

Scrivs

Hi there Photoshop Gurus,

I've been having issues with the colors of my Photoshop designs not being printed correctly by the printing press of my publisher, and I would very much appreciate it if any of you could help me out.

Let me start by saying that while I know my way around Photoshop to some extent, I am most certainly not a veteran. I'm definitely still a novice. Therefore I'm assuming that I most likely must have been doing something wrong.

Alright, I work as a freelance translater and was recently hired to translate two books, for which I also had to personally design the cover. I have designed these covers just the way I wanted to in Photoshop, and even when saving them as .PNG files and uploading them to my publisher, they look great and maintain their correct colors.
However, when I ask my publisher for a concept image of how my designs will look when they're actually being printed, the colors change dramatically. Full black turns into some kind of dark green, and dark red becomes purple. Which is very frustrating as I obviously do not want these books to be published like that.

Now I have done some research myself and know that the colors between my display monitor and a printing press are different. If I remember correctly, my monitor uses RGB, whereas a printing press uses CMYK (might have those mixed up), so I figured that perhaps there lies the issue.