What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Converting from Adobe RGB to sRGB color correction

ppersson86

Hi,

I work as a retoucher and a huge problem I have is when I work for a client who both wants to print and put their ads on the web.

Im always working in Adobe RGB unless Im doing a job for web only.

My problem is that when I convert my images from Adobe RGB to sRGB it narrows down the colors. I wonder if anyone out there has any solution to how to compensate for the loss of colors? Im not sure it's possible to just do a curve that compensates for the colors I loose?

Would very much appreciate an discussion around this subject, and if anyone has a good solution I would be more than happy if you could share your technique with me.

Very Best,
//P

Steve

Retired Administrator
Most web browsers are able to use Adobe RGB it really shouldn't be an issue.
If you have to have an sRGB why not do a "save as" and give the customer two images?

ppersson86

Hi Steve,
Thanks for your reply.
The issue is that the standard user setting in most browsers are sRGB. And most of the people out there do not even know that there are different color profiles to choose between.

I am doing two versions for my clients, but the issue is that, when I convert my Adobe RGB file into sRGB it changes the colors. That's when I need to do a compensation/correction to match my correct colors. You see, I spend hours of matching colors and I want it to look the same in all medias.

Steve

Retired Administrator
Right, I get your point.
And you're finding that the Adobe space doesn't look right when viewed on the web?
That isn't supposed to be an issue today but I guess it is for you.