What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Requesting assistance: Reflection smoothing

viewfinder88

I have these product shots I do for web display. Could anyone please suggest a technique to smooth out the reflection of the subject? So far I've just cut out the deck with quick selection and am left with this kinda chunky reflection. Before, I would just shamelessly use the brush tool but that takes an inordinate amount of time and patience. I am a novice. Thank you very much.

Attachments

• RL9A7371.jpg
    RL9A7371.jpg
    137 KB · Views: 10

ALB68

Dear Departed Guru and PSG Staff Member
Try this. I am assuming your wanting this to not have the two white reflections - just select what you want to blend in, go to Edit, Fill and choose Content Aware ..magic
You might also use Quick Mask. It is applied with your brush tool, be sure it's set to Black foreground, white background. Opacity 100%. Type Q to start and just start painting the mask. When finished, Q again and you will see your marching ants. Reactivate if needed by hitting Q again. Subtract from the mask by holding Alt/Option key as you paint.

Last edited:

viewfinder88

Actually, more like this. I did this as well but that under shadow/shades/smoothed-reflection took me an hour at least. I just figured there was some sort of solid time saving 'professional' way of doing it. I have many others to do and the task is so daunting.
RL9A4847.jpg

Tom Mann

Guru
To me, smoothing an incorrectly simulated shadow / reflection after you already made it falls in the category of closing the barn door after the horses have left.