What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Fastest solution to cut out this strange image

ruttan

Hi, I am a newbie of Photoshop and I want to know this:

SAMPLE IMAGE:

309.fw.png

RESULT NEEDED:

FAST and clean cut out of hair with their border but without background, skin and armor.

NOT WORKING (I use Photoshop CS3):

• Magnetic lasso tool -> Bad selection on the hair tips.
  • Magic wand tool -> Confuse selection.
  • Quick selection tool -> Good but not always in hair tips.
  • Manual selection -> Good, but too slow.

QUESTIONS:

• Am I doing somthing wrong?
  • Have I missed something?
  • Wrong regulations?
  • Have I first to optimize the image?

Tom Mann

Guru
If, by "manual", you meant the pen tool, this is what I would use for the task you described.

Once one gets some practice, it's quite fast to do something like this.

Tom

ruttan

If, by "manual", you meant the pen tool, this is what I would use for the task you described.

Once one gets some practice, it's quite fast to do something like this.

Tom

Thanks for your reply, I already have some dexterity with the path of Fireworks but my goal was to speed up everything with a selection tool more powerful. The use of pen tool undermines the entire job. I need to have a clean and curved shape... with the live trace of Illustrator, there are more possibilities?

IamSam

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Hi ruttan and welcome to PSG.