What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

How to save a GIF cinemagraph?

DrCarl

What are the steps to save save a GIF cinemagraph? - I am a noob at GIFs.

The GIFs I have are made with one main image (the first one), and then the next 150 frames are of what little motion there is in the image.

What I am getting is a quick flash of the main image, then just the masked moving parts without the background.

And, for an extra bonus, tell me a second way to reveal a GIF once I minimize it. I know it's there SOMEwhere...lol..wait, Ctrl-Tab did it this time, but wouldn't a while ago...there are always two or three ways, right?

I am also hunting for a way to preview the GIF in PS so that the 150 masks with the motion overlay the first main image.

Just attached the one that does not work, and the original...so you can see what I am seeing.

TIA

DrCarl

(The bottom sample is an "as is" GIF as produced by my phone. The upper sample has an adjustment layer on the top of the stack, yet the still image only plays for the first (and 76th? of 150) frame)

Attachments

• 20151111_134820-9999999--copy.gif
    20151111_134820-9999999--copy.gif
    6.2 MB · Views: 17
  • 20151111_134820.gif
    20151111_134820.gif
    7.1 MB · Views: 17
Last edited:

IamSam

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Hey Carl, creating Cinemagraphs is a very different process than creating GIF's.

While most Cinemagraphs are saved in .gif format, they are created using a video timeline rather than the frame animation of most GIF's.

Here is simple Cinemagraph I created from the movie Minority Report.
MinorityReport_03.gif

Here are the two layers it was created from.