What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

cd covers i made

tmac

hi guys. i just wanted to get opinions on what i might be able to add to these covers i made for a friend. i'm still a photoshop newb, so any help goes a long way for me. thanks!

btw, i'm not making any kind of money from this, just for fun and the learning experience.

Hi tmac. I'm pretty much a newbie myself, but I think I like the second one best -- at least the title stands out more against the red. One thing I'd do is try to clean up the pixels around the guys' heads -- especially the top right one. Also, it seems that a lot of Photoshop 'oldies' (well, if we're the 'newbies' someone has to be the 'oldies'!! [innocent] ) don't like the lens flair filter. I guess because it's maybe over-used? You know what they say about cliches! Hope that's of some help

Thanks for the feedback Peter.

I like the red one better myself but I guess we're in the minority because 3 of them like the grey one the best. :)

Point well taken about the white pixels showing around the heads, I'll fix that. Regarding the lens flare filter, I assume you're referring to the flares on the 'Basswood' text. Well those aren't from a lens flare filter. Those are supposed to be shine flares (?) that I used from Mystical Lighting (Auto FX software). I'm probably just using the wrong preset and it's turning out to be bigger than it should be. [confused] Maybe I can reduce the width of the streaks but I'm not sure if it will get any smaller.

Any ideas how I can tweak their pictures better as far as filters?

lighting