What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Copy and paste problem

pjkong

New guy here. Just got Photoshop recently and Im still learning the ropes. My problem is this. I resized an image. I then saved it as a psd. I made a selection of an item on this image and then went to paste it onto another psd image. But when I do it pastes it at the dimensionsthat the item was on the original presresized image and not the new one. Before the resize this item was 4 inches wide. The resized version was 5 1/2. Like I said when I copy and paste the resized 5 1/2 onto a new image its the original 4 inches This has happened a couple different times but all other times I have copied and pasted it was fine and everything pasted the size it was supposed to be. Im just wondering if Im missing something somewhere.

MrToM

Guru
It doesn't sound as if you really did 'resize' your image....it may appear so, but in reality you didn't.

I'm guessing you used the IMAGE > Image Size dialog to change the 'size'......and also by changing the 'resolution'.

If you really want to re-sample the image you need to make sure that the re-sample option is checked when you do.

The 'resolution' of a digital image is nothing more than data written to the header of the image....it has no bearing on the image size whatsoever.....but, having said that it IS a factor used when re-sampling.

You mention image size in inches....this is not the image dimensions...its the PRINT dimensions.
In other words, with the amount of pixels in your image, and at the resolution set by you, you would (if you printed it out on paper) get a printed image of those dimensions.