What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Estimate color concentration

blue121

Hi everyone.
I write to ask for one advice, I'm not an expert, so I apologize if I will write nonsense.

For the purposes of scientific research, I should estimate the yellow concentration of a bird's chest, which will be captured with a video camera in nature. The idea is to use a graphics program such as photoshop to detect the concentration of yellow from the image frame. However, to prevent that the different shades of sun light can affect the color of the yellow shade in the video (and therefore in the photo), I have thought to put a piece of yellow paper, always the same, in all bird roost where there is the animals (which act as a colorchecker I think). So, I would have in the photo the animal with a certain shade of color in the chest to identify in some way, and behind it, a piece of yellow paper, with a known shade of color. I think it can be useful because my problem is that the different shade of sun light could change the shade of yellow that I have to identify, and therefore I need a way to resolve the problem of ambient light. So I would like to place a colorchecker, and compare the chest tone to the known tone of the colorchecker, to estimate the true yellow tone of the animal.

I need some ideas on how to estimate the concentration of yellow in the chest of these animals. This concentration will then be compared between birds in different areas, following the hypothesis that different areas imply different shades of yellow in the chest. Can it be done with photoshop? What do you think? :)

Thanks so much

ex.png

Last edited: