What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Help with Magic Lasso/Lasso tool

crazysaguaro

Hello,

I am a Photoshop noob and am trying to learn things little by little, but something that's always eluded me is how to EASILY cut someone out from the background of a photo. I give up each time because either Photoshop cuts out too much background, or it is frustratingly difficult to exactly trace what I want to cut out.

Is there an easy way to do this? I've tried the magic lasso and the eraser tools but nothing seems to easily do what I want.

The file I am using to test cutting out is at http://www.ginab.net/images/test.psd and it's particularly hard (at least for me!) because my hair color is close to the bookshelf in the background. I'm trying to make some custom holiday cards and I'd really like to cut myself out to replace the background.

Please help! Any tips would be appreciated ...

-Gina

iDad

Guru
I did it for you how do I mail it to you? sent a pm with my address

crazysaguaro

Hi iDad - I will connect with you via PM, thank you!

Can you share with me how you did it? Do you use the magic lasso? At what settings?

Also, what do you use for an input device - a mouse or a pen?

-Gina

crazysaguaro

Additionally, do you use a special plug-in to help you? If so, which one is best for this type of cutting out & editing?

iDad

Guru
Hi iDad - I will connect with you via PM, thank you!

Can you share with me how you did it? Do you use the magic lasso? At what settings?

Also, what do you use for an input device - a mouse or a pen?

-Gina