What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

How to acheive "exact" skin tone using Photoshop CS5

blasteralfred

Hi,
I am "somewhat" beginner to Photoshop, means I have some experience with it. I use Photoshop CS5 Extended.
If I want to change some skin tone, usually I go through some usual settings like levels, hue/saturation, brightness/contrast and finally curves. This always does it for me. But now, what I am telling is something different, like to achieve some "exact" or "accurate" skin tone, that I require using Photoshop. Even if I can mess with all those settings I mentioned, is there any other simpler way? I found it "really" hard to do this sometimes. When some settings works, something else wont, makes me to compromise the perfection of result. I think you got what I am telling about.
Below are 2 images. I would like to get skin tones swapped, or I would like to change the skin tone of any one photo with the other.
RVrZwl0.jpg <=> aLk2C1V.jpg
Is this possible? If there is no solution, is there any work around or tutorial at lest, to achieve specific skin tone?
Thanks in advance..;)

Over the past 5 or 10 years, the same thought / wish has also crossed my mind and I've looked into various approaches such as:

a) Pick a representative area on both images (eg, the cheeks of both subjects) sample the color over a large area (eg, 50 x 50 pixels), and read off the two sets of RGB values. Then, put a "curves" adjustment layer above the image that you want to change, and manually type in the before and after values into all three curves.

b) Image / Adjust / Match Color

c) A 3rd party plugin: "ReColorST" by FoksMarx ( http://foksmarx.com/ ).