What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

How to create "arcs"?

Jerl95

Hi!
I am new to Photoshopping, and I use Photoshop CC at school. I am not artist, so please keep answers simple :)

Below is the "arc" colored red that I'd like to create. I don't want to draw it manually because there should be tools to make it for me, also I want it to be outlined only, so no fill :) I think that circle/ellipse tool could help?
Also, if I want to put text inside the arc, will it automatically curve?

arc.png

gedstar

Guru
Hi Jerl95

Alas there is no tools to do something like this automatically, what I done to create this was use the Ellipse Tool to make the top arc, first I created a full Ellipse with no fill and a stroke of 10px in black
Then I rasterized this layer and made a selection with the Rectangle Marquee Tool around the bottom of the Ellipse and pressed Ctrl + backspace and filled the selection with white
Then I made a copy of that layer and moved it down with the Move Tool and hit Ctrl T to enter Free Transform mode and re-sized that layer with the Ctrl handles
To make the side line I just used the Line Tool to create the line with the same stoke, copied this layer again and used the Move and Free Transform Tools to move them into the correct place and re-size them.
Here's a tutorial that will explain how I created the arc text
http://www.photoshoptutorials.ws/photoshop-tutorials/basics/quick-tip-correct-create-curved-text/

Untitled-3.jpg

Last edited:

BaluM